Behind the Lens|Serendipity

Life can feel like a struggle when it is cool to hang out at coffee shops and you do not drink coffee.

 

Life can feel like a struggle when you only get 39 likes on an Instagram post instead of 40.

 

Life can feel like a struggle when you only get a B+ instead of an A.

 

What is it about a cup of coffee, a number, or a letter, that can control our lives in such a defining way? Why do we allow such things to mark us as relevant or irrelevant, popular or invisible, genius or stupid? How come we give them a say?

In this day and age it is very easy to get carried away and forget who we are; to forget who or what defines us.

 

As I reflect on 2015 in anticipation for the new year, I can see all the things I have allowed to define me. I have let music define me. I let friends, grades, films, circumstances, followers, my needs, longings, and expectations, and so many more things become ME. Yet even with all of these things in my life, there is something missing.

 

El Shaddai – The God Who is Enough.

Enough. 

Out of everything I allowed to dictate my being, I left no room for the one person that is greater than everything. God is enough.

 

HE satisfies every need.

Philippians 4:19 “But my God shall abundantly supply all your need according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.”

 

HE satisfies every longing.

Psalms 37:4 “Take delight in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart.”

 

HE satisfies every expectation.

Psalm 62:5 “Let all that I am wait quietly before God, for my hope is in him.”

 

 

I love the word serendipity. Serendipity is “discovering valuable or agreeable things not sought for”. With God it doesn’t matter how many likes your Instagram post receives, whether or not you like coffee, or  what grade you earned. Once you find your identity in the Creator, you discover the valuable and agreeable things not sought for. Your eyes can be opened to all the things missing in the scramble to be relevant, genius, and popular.

 

“All that I want is in Jesus. He satisfies; Joy He supplies. Life would be worthless without Him. All things (serendipities) in Jesus I find.”                 -Harry D. Loes

 

Leave a Reply

